This is my world

there is an ocean inside my mind
i can hear the waves
the dark skies of stars
and the birds
(how) the salt
leaves the water and dries
out the sand
allowing the current
to pull it back out to
a wet and peaceful existence

on the horizon
a ship will soon sink
clouds fill
my mind and i
know in the near
distance
an electrical storm
will turn the ocean
against me
and my eyes close
as the first strike hits
the main mast and starts the
fire

the boat now breaks in half and sinks
splintering into nothingness
i am on this ship
the blue to black skies
are green with anger
the ocean is drowning
and the electrical currents destroy
my mind

my imagination dreams of death
a release from such pain
i raise my hand out of the water
grabbing debris
anything that will pull me to shore
my body, my mind is limp
exhausted and
drying out at the mouth
of the beach
the salt separates
and the water tries to push
my personal being onto the dry land

but

this land is only an island
under a palm tree
my mind will sit
watching the beautiful skies
dreading the next storm
i know will
come
along

About Crazy Irishman

Touted as a working man's poet, Martin Durkin has been writing professionally for the last 12 years. He has appeared in over twenty anthologies across North America, including, "And left a place to stand on", a collection of poems and essays about the late great Al Purdy. Durkin has also published two collections of poetry, "Hypnotic Childhood", and "The Sound of Quish". Over the past 4 years, Durkin has been on hiatus for the most part but has recently come back to the poetry scene creating a poetry site called crazyirishman.wordpress.com, where in the past year he has written over 100 poems and created a cross over page on https://www.facebook.com/crazyirishmanpoetry where he gives a story behind each of the pieces written. View all posts by Crazy Irishman

Leave a Reply

